Name: Anteonette Fakhoury

Family: Married to Hicham, and has a son Joseph, and a daughter Nawal

Profession: Runs the Koffee House Bakery with her husband Hicham

Years in Grenfell: 2 years

Age: 41


What do you love about living in Canada?

I love the peace. Shalom. Everything is easy. I have a free life here. If you want to do anything, you can do it here. There is a much better future for my children in Canada. I like the people too. There are lovely people here, and they're happy. I like living in Grenfell. 

Talk about a proud parenting moment you've had.

I was so happy when my daughter graduated grade 12 in Canada. It was a big difference for her, to come to Canada. Everything is so different for her here. The weather was hard for her, taking the bus, and getting around.  When she came, she didn't speak any English. When we came here, she would have been grade 10 in our country, but she started in grade 9 here, because it was very hard for her. But I was very happy when she graduated from grade 12. 

If your house was on fire, and you had five minutes to save any material item, what would it be?

We didn't bring much here with us from Syria. We only brought our clothes really. But I have one family picture, with my mom and dad and my sisters. I brought it with me, and I would take that.

How many different jobs have you had?

I have had three jobs. In Dubai, I worked in a jewelry shop for five years. That was when I was 25 or 26. My family lived there for a few years. My husband's brother died when we were living there, so we moved back to Syria to take over the shop he owned (Hicham and his brother ran a women's clothing boutique in Syria)  In Syria, I worked in a clinic that fitted older people for hearing aids. I was in the reception area and worked there for one year. I took the appointments. And now I work here! 

Have you ever done anything dangerous?

When I left my country of Syria, that was very dangerous. It is not easy to leave the country. They can stop you from going if they want to. You don't look behind you.... you just go.  

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

To Syria.  I don't like to go anywhere else, just Syria, my country, to see my family.

Where were you in life 10 years ago?

We were living in Syria. My kids were about 8 and 10 years old. I would have been in my early 30s. I was at home with my kids. My husband had the shop with his brother. It was a women's clothing store. He was the owner. 

What does home mean to you?

It means everything to me. I love being with my family. Everything is relaxed. They are everything to me. 

What is your favorite memory of your grandparents?

I have lots to tell you, but it's hard in English. My grandparents, they do for me whatever I wanted. I was spoiled! My grandmother's name is the same as mine. I am named after her. I was born in Kuwait, not in Syria. In the winter, my grandparents came to Kuwait and stayed with us, but they lived in Syria. In the summer, we would go to Syria to live with them.  

If you were given $100, 000, what would you spend it on?

A would use that money to help my family. My family here in Canada, and my family back in Syria.